Southern Illinois University School of Law

Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Main Navigation

School of Law Random Image

Dean's Blog

21st annual National Health Law Moot Court Competition


winning team

Professor Gene Basanta (far left) and ACLM President Kent E. Harshbarger, MD, JD, FCLM,
(far right) with winning team members Carrie Gilbert and James D'Angelo, Loyola University Chicago School of Law. 


This past Friday and Saturday, November 2-3, 2012, teams representing law schools from all over the nation competed in SIU Law’s annual National Health Law Moot Court Competition.
The vanguard issues argued this year were whether there is “a constitutional right to confidentiality in patient medical records maintained by a municipal government, and, if so, what is the scope of that right” and whether “the inadvertent release of private patient medical records violate the patients’ rights of substantive due process.”

Read more about this year's competition here.

The success of this long-running event is the result of countless hours of work by many individuals. On behalf of the law school, I thank everyone who worked on this competition. A special thanks to Professor Cheryl Anderson, faculty advisor to the Moot Court Board; Professor Gene Basanta, Director of SIU Law’s Center for Health Law and Policy; program assistants Gina Gurley and Bonnie Miller; the law student members of the Moot Court Board, along with other law student volunteers; and all of the attorneys and judges who participated as judges in this year’s competition.  

We were honored to have a very distinguished panel of judges for the final round:  Judge Michael Kanne of the Seventh Circuit; Judge David Herndon of the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Illinois; Dr. Kent Harshbarger, President of the American College of Legal Medicine, and almnus of the SIU JD/MD program; and Professor Jane Bambauer of the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law, who wrote this year’s Problem and Bench Brief.

Congratulations to everyone who participated.  Here are the final results.

First Place and Best Brief
Loyola University Chicago School of Law 
James D'Angelo
Carrie Gilbert

[Mr. D’Angelo was also recognized as the Best Preliminary Round Oralist and the Best Overall Oralist]

Second Place
South Texas College of Law 
Adam Anthony
Elizabeth Edwards
William Wright

Third Place
Faulkner University School of Law
Donald Burton
Wesley Walterscheid

Runner-Up Best Brief
Hamline University School of Law
Joseph Cooch
Elizabeth Winchell