LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2016-2017

Best Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor in Chief.

CODY R. BENWAY

Outstanding Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor in Chief.

JAYCI C. NOBLE

Best Comment Award

Presented to the author of the comment selected for publication which scored highest in a blind ranking by the previous year's Editor in Chief.

JENNIFER M. PAULSON

Best Note Editor

Presented to the best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication.

AMBER N. SANGES

Best Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken and the quality of editing.

Bret M. Thixton

Outstanding Staff Member

This award is presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal.

SPENCER A. JACKSON

Outstanding Service

This award goes to the third-year editor who made the most significant contribution to the work of the Journal through the quality of their work and their level of commitment to the Journal.

KELLY A. MEREDITH and JENNIFER M. PAULSON

JOURNAL OF LEGAL MEDICINE AWARDS

For the Academic Year 2016-2017

Outstanding Editor

Presented to the editor who has excelled in coordinating and managing his or her responsibilities on the *Journal of Legal Medicine*.

KYLE A. MCALLISTER-GRUM

Outstanding Leadership Award

Presented to the editor who embodies excellence in leadership, including qualities of responsibility, patience, collegiality, and dedication to ensuring high standards of legal publication.

CHELBIE A. MITCHELL

Outstanding Associate Commentary Editor

Presented to the Associate Commentary Editor who has excelled in providing support and feedback to staff members.

DONALD J. MCCLAREY

W. Eugene Basanta Professionalism Award

Presented to the staff member who has demonstrated an exceptional level of effort, collegiality and dedication to the *Journal of Legal Medicine*.

AMANDA MAHAFFEY LESINSKI

Best Commentary Award, Spring 2016

Presented to the 2L student who produced the spring commentary that best embraces effort, quality, creativity, and an ability to learn from the demands of editorial critique.

JOSHUA H. TINAJERO

Best Commentary Award, Fall 2016

Presented to the 2L student who produced the fall commentary that best embraces effort, quality, creativity, and an ability to learn from the demands of editorial critique.

CONNOR M. OEHMKE

Taylor and Francis Greatest Impact Award

Presented to the current or former student whose published commentary in the previous year received the highest number of downloads.

ANDREW RAY

HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2016-2017

Rosemary T. Bickett Memorial Scholarship

BILLIE SAUNDERS

Frank Bietto Memorial Scholarship

MAGGIE SIMMONS

Professor Jennifer Camero Scholarship

ABIGAIL ECCHER

Pat Caporale Scholarship

SAIKRISHNA BALASUBRAMANIAN

Charter Class Campaign for Academic Excellence Scholarship

JUSTIN JOHNSON

Al H. And James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship ADAM IRVIN

Class of 1991 Scholarship

EVAN FRANKLIN

Class of 1994 Outstanding Research Assistant Scholarship

DAVID STODDARD

Class of 1999/R.S.D. Memorial Scholarship

MAGGIE SIMMONS

Paul and Lee Ann Conti JD/MBA Scholarship

KALEIGH STEVENS

Joe and Irene Dell'Era Scholarship

CARLOS CHAVEZ

Joseph Downey Scholarship

ALYCE GRIGSBY

Delos L. Duty Scholarship

MARGARET MANNING

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award JOHN SKRABACZ

Bessie Engram Community Service Award Kiersten Klekner-Alt

Judge James Foreman Scholarship Kevin Davenport

August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship Andrea Shadley

Lisa Franke Scholarship Ayha Ibrahim

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship JESSICA HOSTERT

Harold W. "Hank" Hannah Agriculture Law Scholarship Sheena Hart

Jackson County Bar Association Scholarship AYHA IBRAHIM

Philip Jobst Kaplan Bar Prep Scholarship Andriana Bicanin

David C. Johnson Scholarship BILLIE SAUNDERS

Julius A. And Norma H. Johnson Scholarship Victoria Fuller

Hiram H. And Rosalee Lesar Scholarship JULIAN WILKS

Hiram Lesar Professorship Scholarship CLARK SPALDING

Law Academic Excellence

JESSICA HOSTERT

Law Student Scholarship

CODY WALLS

Lincoln's Inn Nomination

JANAE DAVIS, KYLE FREEMAN, MICHAEL HAMPLEMAN HILLARY HINES, WILLIE LYLES III, ALAN MABEE JERROD MONTGOMERY, VALERIE OZMENT, CATHERINE ROBILIO KATHERINE SCHMIDT, CAMERON WOODS

Madison County Bar Association

ZACHARY SANDIFER

John A. and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship

BRITTANY ROBINSON

Thurgood Marshall Award

CAMERON WOODS

Judge Richard Mills Scholarship

ALEXANDER SHANE

Judge James O. Monroe Jr. Writing Award

AYHA IBRAHIM

National Association of Women Lawyers Nomination

KATHERINE SCHMIDT

Natural Resources Law Award

CLETUS PRICE

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Fellowship

HILLARY HINES

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Scholarship

CLARK JOHNSON

Scott H. Nichols Memorial Endowed Scholarship

RYAN SCHULER

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship MARK COLLINS

Judge Richard E. Richman Endowed Scholarship ASHLEY MOYA

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship Andriana Bicanin

Donny J. Schmeder Memorial Endowed Scholarship CIERRA BARNES

Suzanne Schmitz Scholarship Saikrishna Balasubramanian Andriana Bicanin

Professor Bill Schroeder Scholarship Craig Rich

School of Law Alumni Scholarship Ayha Ibrahim

School of Law Dean's Club Scholarship Bradley Taylor

Senior Class Commencement Speaker JOSEPH A. WADE

SIU Law 25th Anniversary Award CAROLEE HOERNER

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship Bryan Phillips

The Edward L. Welch Labor Law Award JERRY COSTELLO III

Women's Bar Association of Illinois Foundation Award Nominees Britney Hoag Darryl Holdiness

Edgar O. and Bonnie Zimmer Law ScholarshipBRITTNI TAYLOR MCCANN

Access to Justice Poster Competition Winners

1st Place (tie) KACEY EISENHAUER DARRYL HOLDINESS

2nd Place (tie)
VICTOR FERARU
and
1L Team: DERRICK MCDOWELL,
SEAN MCGARRY, NICHOLAS MILLER
MEGAN MONAHAN, CALEB NELSON

3rd Place (tie)
KIM PAIGE
COLTON FLANNIGAN
ZACHARY MILLER
and
n: PAIGE VACANTE, JULL

1L Team: PAIGE VACANTE, JULIAN VALDES DEVIN VAUGHN, CODY WALLS ERIC WATSON, JACOB WELCH