LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2017-2018

Best Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor in Chief. BRADLEY J. TAYLOR

Outstanding Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor in Chief. TOSHA M. CHILDS

Best Note Editor

Presented to the best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication. JAMES E. RADCLIFFE

Best Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken and the quality of editing. SPENCER A. JACKSON

Outstanding Staff Member

This award is presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal. JULIAN M. VALDES

Outstanding Service

This award goes to the third-year editor who made the most significant contribution to the work of the Journal through the quality of their work and their level of commitment to the Journal. JENNIFER M. PAULSON

JOURNAL OF LEGAL MEDICINE AWARDS

For the Academic Year 2017-2018

Outstanding Editor

Presented to the editor who has excelled in coordinating and managing his or her responsibilities on the *Journal of Legal Medicine*. TIFFANY M. WILSON

Outstanding Leadership Award

Presented to the editor who embodies excellence in leadership, including qualities of responsibility, patience, collegiality, and dedication to ensuring high standards of legal publication. THOMAS B. SLAYTON

Outstanding Associate Commentary Editor

Presented to the Associate Commentary Editor who has excelled in providing support and feedback to staff members. PETER SU

W. Eugene Basanta Professionalism Award

Presented to the staff member who has demonstrated an exceptional level of effort, collegiality and dedication to the *Journal of Legal Medicine*. BRITTANY ROBINSON

Best Commentary Award, Spring 2017

Presented to the 2L student who produced the spring commentary that best embraces effort, quality, creativity, and an ability to learn from the demands of editorial critique. TIFFANY M. WILSON

Best Commentary Award, Fall 2017

Presented to the 2L student who produced the fall commentary that best embraces effort, quality, creativity, and an ability to learn from the demands of editorial critique. Kyle N. Loraine

Taylor and Francis Greatest Impact Award

Presented to the current or former student whose published commentary in the previous year received the highest number of downloads. KATHRYN MORTHLAND HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2017-2018

ALI CLE Scholarship & Leadership Award Kristen Southworth

Ameren Corporation Frankie Muse Freeman Trailblazer ADAKU OTI

> **Rosemary T. Bickett Memorial Scholarship** JESSICA HOSTERT

Frank Bietto Memorial Scholarship Marilyn Maize

Beth and Darin Boggs Scholarship JAMES E. RADCLIFFE, THOMAS SANNER

Professor Jennifer Camero Scholarship Garrett McDowell

> Pat Caporale Scholarship JEWELL EWING

Charter Class Campaign for Academic Excellence Scholarship LUCAS ACKERMAN

Al H. And James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship Elizabeth Reynolds

> Class of 1991 Scholarship TAMSEN KENNEDY

Class of 1994 Outstanding Research Assistant Scholarship ALYSSA ALLISON

> Class of 1999/R.S.D. Memorial Scholarship Amanda Floray

Joe and Irene Dell'Era Scholarship William Glasscock

Joseph Downey Scholarship Berta Brazdeikyte

Delos L. Duty Scholarship Steven Ellingsworth

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award JAMES E. RADCLIFFE

Bessie Engram Community Service Award Celeste Niemann

Judge James Foreman Scholarship Skylar Petitt

August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship Brett Bradley

> Lisa Franke Scholarship Billie Saunders

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship KARL BORGSMILLER

Jackson County Bar Association Scholarship Billie Saunders

Philip Jobst Kaplan Bar Prep Scholarship Cierra Barnes

> **David C. Johnson Scholarship** Pilar Pitts, Jarmeika Taylor

Julius A. And Norma H. Johnson Scholarship Tosha M. Childs

Hiram H. And Rosalee Lesar Scholarship Ryan Scott Law Academic Excellence Michael Dahmane

Law Student Scholarship Morgan Lacefield

Lincoln's Inn Nomination Victor Feraru, Sheena Hart, Kiersten Klekner-Alt Barry Moore, Ashley Moya, jayci Noble James E. Radcliffe, John Wagener

> Madison County Bar Association JOCELYN FISKE

John A. and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship Antonella Santi

> **Thurgood Marshall Award** Mariam Mansaray

Judge Richard Mills Scholarship Erin Hodgson

Judge James O. Monroe Jr. Writing Award Derrick McDowell

> Natural Resources Law Award Kristen Southworth

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Fellowship Nathan Davis, Barry Moore

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Scholarship Kimyatta Blan, Drew Dossett Zachary Jones, Wesley Kash, Ellen Lueking

Scott H. Nichols Memorial Endowed Scholarship David Smith

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship KASEY FARRIS Judge Richard E. Richman Endowed Scholarship Billie Saunders, Maggie Simmons

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship Athina Pentsou

Donny J. Schmeder Memorial Endowed Scholarship Ayha Ibrahim

Suzanne Schmitz Scholarship Youssef Boudjarane, Celeste Niemann, Tim Woemmel

> School of Law Alumni Scholarship Megan Fugate

School of Law Dean's Club Scholarship CHASE RICH

Senior Class Commencement Speaker DONALD COBB

SIU Law 25th Anniversary Award Chad Whitney

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship Alyssa Alexander

U.S. Southern District of Illinois Scholarship Ayha Ibrahim

The Edward L. Welch Labor Law Award TED PARKER

Women's Bar Association of Illinois Foundation Award Nominees BRITTANY ROBINSON, BILLIE SAUNDERS

> Edgar O. and Bonnie Zimmer Law Scholarship JESSICA HOSTERT