LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2018-2019

Best Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief.

ANTONELLA SANTI

Outstanding Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief.

GARRETT MCDOWELL

Best Note Editor

Presented to the best noted editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication.

BENJAMIN HOOVER

Best Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken, and the quality of editing.

BRADLEY J. TAYLOR

Outstanding Staff Member

This award is presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal.

LORI HAAS

MOOT COURT AWARDS AND HONORS

For the Academic Year 2018-2019

American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition

Coach: CHERYL ANDERSON

Regional Champions: BREANNA HUNT, COOPER POWELL, JACOB

WELCH

Regional Semi-Finalists: LACEY BOULWARE, GARRETT

MCDOWELL, ALEX RIVES

Weschler First Amendment Moot Court Competition

Coaches: STEVEN MACIAS & MARK BRITTINGHAM
Ocotofinalists: BREANNA HUNT, MICHAEL LENNIX, JORDAN
VANDEVEER

Intermural Competition Award Winners

Champions: MICHAEL DAHMANE & MEGAN FUGATE

Finalist Team: LACEY BOULWARE & BEVERLY GARLAND

Best Oralist: MICHAEL DAHMANE

Second Best Oralist: GARRETT MCDOWELL

Third Best Oralist: TOMEI PEPPARD

Best Brief: KRISTINA COOK & GARRETT MCDOWELL Second Place Brief: MICHAEL DAHMANE & MEGAN FUGATE

Order of Barristers

ALYCE GRIGSBY

BREANNA HUNT

NICHOLAS LOEHR

COOPER POWELL

CHRISTOPHER SIELAFF

WM. SCHYLER SULLIVAN

JORDAN VANDEVEER

JACOB WELCH

TRIAL TEAM AWARDS

For the Academic Year 2018-2019

Mitchell McGough Leadership in Trial Advocacy Award DAKOTA M. MCKEE

Best Overall Advocate TRAVIS HILLENBRAND

Most Improved Advocate TOKUNBO FASHAWE

Show Me Challenge
National Voir Dire Tournament
Kansas City, Missouri
Semifinalist: Third Place
STEVEN ELLINGSWORTH
TRAVIS HILLENBRAND
TAMSEN KENNEDY

HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2018-2019

Law 25th Anniversary Campaign Scholarship Maria Mengarelli

School of Law Alumni Scholarship Marisa Green

August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship Natalie Crum

Frank Bietto Scholarship John Yeley

Professor Jennifer Camero ScholarshipCassidy Kolaz

Charter Class Campaign for Academic Excellence Scholarship Trenton Wagner

Class of 1991 Scholarship Jared Dunn

Class of 1999/R.S.D. Memorial Scholarship Patricia Sherman-Pfeiffer

Law Dean's Club Scholarship Lindy Giesler

Joe and Irene Dell'Era Scholarship Austin Harrell

Delos L. Duty ScholarshipTaylor Williams

Judge James Foreman Scholarship Chad Leitch

Law Student Scholarship Mary Roesch

Hiram & Rosalie Lesar Scholarship

Kaitlyn Hutchison

Madison County Bar Association

Dillon Borri

John Maher and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship

Jerricha Griffin

Judge Richard Mills Scholarship

Aaron Herkert

Charles Neal Scholarship

John Schultz Weston Stoddard

Scott Nichols Scholarship

Tatiyana Rodriguez

Lesar Proffessorship Fund

Matthew Dolan

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship

Marisa Green

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship

Nicole Mannen

Bill Schroeder Scholarship

Logan Wallace

Ameren Corporation Frankie Muse Freeman Trailblazer

Beverly Garland

Rosemary Bickett Award

Clayton Walden

Pat Caporale Scholarship Prize

Ryesha Patterson

Al H. and James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship

Elizabeth Reynolds

Paul and Lee Ann Conti JD/MBA

Nola McCall

Joseph Downey Scholarship

Brigid Wheeler

Bessie Engram Community Service Award

Hannah Westmoreland

Lisa Franke Scholarship

Marisa Green

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship

Patricia Sherman-Pfeiffer

Harold W. "Hank" Hannah Ag Law Scholarship

Clayton Walden

Jackson County Bar Association

Taylor Williams

David C. Johnson Scholarship

Pilar Pitts

Judge James O. Monroe, Jr. Award

Garrett McDowell

Andrew Range Endowed Scholarship

Clayton Walden

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship

Elizabeth Reynolds

Donny J. Schmeder Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Grace Miller

Edgar O. & Bonnie Zimmer Law Scholarship

Brianna Robertson

Thurgood Marshall Award

Keegan Nowlin

Class of 1994 - Outstanding Research Assistant

John Moreland

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award Fund

Brandon Straub

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Legal Clinic Fellow

Brett Bradley

Lincoln's Inn

Derrick McDowell
Brandon Straub
Ayha Ibrahim
Conner Cates
Julian Valdes
Josephine Tinterra
Courtney Huffenberger
Jessica Hostert

Beth and Darin Boggs Scholarship

Ajitpal Randhawa Eran McCarter

Julius and Norma Johnson

Dominique Johnson

Natural Resources Law Award

Jessica Hostert

Congressman William Enyart Bar Preparation Fund

Adaku Oti Jessica Hostert Jordan Vandeveer

Clemens Scholarship for Women Lawyers

Deidre Powell

Suzanne Schmitz Award

Selassie Torkonoo Brittany Robinson Jasmine Price