LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2019-2020

Best Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief. DYLAN BOYD

Outstanding Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief. ANNE HANSEN

Best Note Editor

Presented to the best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication. TOMEI PEPPARD

Best Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken, and the quality of editing. GARRETT MCDOWELL

Outstanding Staff Member

This award is presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal. MAUREEN JENNER MOOT COURT AWARDS AND HONORS For the Academic Year 2019-2020

American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition Coach: CHERYL ANDERSON Regional Semifinalists: DYLAN BOYD, TRENT WAGNER, BEVERLY GARLAND, GARRETT MCDOWELL, & ALEX RIVES

Asylum and Refugee Moot Court Team Coaches: CINDY BUYS & REBECCA WARREN Quarter Finalists: SARA MCCLUSKY, TOMEI PEPPARD, DOROTHY KENNON, & MICHAEL GEASCHEL

> Coronavirus Cancellations Moot Court Competition Best Team: JOSHUA COLONNESE, CHASE RICH, & ANTONELLA SANTI Best Oralist Award: ANTONELLA SANTI

Intramural Competition Award Winners Champions: DYLAN BOYD & GRACE MILLER Finalist Team: DOROTHY KENNON & OLIVIA HOELTING Best Oralist: OLIVIA HOELTING Second Best Oralist: PATRICIA PFEIFFER Third Best Oralist: MONTANA SCHAFER Best Brief: CONNOR LONDRIGAN & PATRICIA PFEIFFER Second Best Brief: DYLAN BOYD & GRACE MILLER

> Order of Barristers KRISTINA COOK MEGAN FUGATE BEVERLY GARLAND SARAH MCCLUSKY GARRETT MCDOWELL TOMEI PEPPARD ALEX RIVES

TRIAL TEAM AWARDS

For the Academic Year 2019-2020

Mitchell McGough Leadership in Trial Advocacy Award OLATOKUNBO FASHAWE

Best Opening Statement STEVEN ELLINGSWORTH

Best Direct Examination OLATOKUNBO FASHAWE

Best Cross Examination TAMSEN STANLEY

Best Closing Argument HOLLY BELMONTE

Best Witness NOUSHEEN B EHSAN

Best Overall Advocate STEVEN ELLINGSWORTH & TAMSEN STANLEY

Order of the Barrister HOLLY BELMONTE & OLATOKUNBO FASHAWE

HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2019-2020

Class of 1991 Scholarship Samantha Bennett

Charter Class Campaign for Academic Excellence Jessica Bland

> School of Law Alumni Scholarship Caitlin Burklow

Law 25th Anniversary Campaign Scholarship Alan Carver

> Bill Schroeder Scholarship Jackson Dimmick Andrew Remeselnik

Jennifer Camero Scholarship Taryn Dissett

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship Schuyler Frashier

August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship Addison Hull

> Dell'Era Scholarship Andrew Jarmer

Class of 1999/R.S.D. Memorial Scholarship James Jones II

> Scott Nichols Scholarship Samuel Lacy

> Charles Neal Scholarship Nathan Levy Jarrod Wiggs Courtney Young

Frank Bietto Scholarship Kevin Lichtenberger

Judge Richard Mills Scholarship Adrianne Long

> Delos Duty Scholarship Joseph McLaughlin

John Maher and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship Christina Napolez

> Lesar Professorship Fund Joseph Sell

Clemens Scholarship for Women Lawyers Coral Serrano

> Law Dean's Club Scholarship Evan Stone

Hiram & Rosalie Lesar Scholarship Loraina Trujillo

Judge James Foreman Scholarship Micaylee Uhls

> Law Student Scholarship Taylor Woods

Madison County Bar Association Jack Zeiger

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship Alexandria Zeigler

Ameren Corporation Frankie Muse Freeman Trailblazer Deidre Powell

> Rosemary Bickett Award Deidre Powell

Pat Caporale Scholarship Prize Elizabeth Reynolds Al H. and James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship Courtney Young

> Paul and Lee Ann Conti JD/MBA Nola McCall

Joseph Downey Scholarship Danielle Kapanowski

Bessie Engram Community Service Award Taylor Williams

> Lisa Franke Scholarship Taylor Williams

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship Regina Fragale

Harold W. "Hank" Hannah Ag Law Scholarship Olivia Hoelting

> Jackson County Bar Association Patricia Pfeiffer

David C. Johnson Scholarship Regina Fragale

Andrew Range Endowed Scholarship Clayton Walden

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship Taylor Williams

Edgar O. & Bonnie Zimmer Law Scholarship Taylor Williams

Southern Illinois Healthcare Health Law Scholarship Grace Miller

> Houdek-Tulis Law Librarian Scholarship John Moreland

U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois Courtney Young Boggs & Boggs Legal Writing Scholarship Elizabeth Reynolds

> Thurgood Marshall Award Ryesha Patterson

Class of 1994- Outstanding Research Assistant Grace Miller Kaitlyn Hutchinson

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award Fund Kaitlyn Hutchinson

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Legal Clinic Fellow Kasey Farris Kaitlyn Hutchinson

> Beth and Darin Boggs Scholarship Nate Levy John Hoemeyer

> > Julius and Norma Johnson Deidre Powell

Natural Resources Law Award Adam Ausmus

Professor Edward L. Welch Labor Law Scholarship Makayla Depoy

Lincoln's Inn

John Moreland Sara McClusky Tomei Peppard Clayton Walden Skylar Pettitt Nicole Engelhardt Erin Hodgson

Congressman William Enyart Bar Preparation Fund

Brianna Baker Kristina Cook Beverly Garland Lori Haas Preston Mostek Ryesha Patterson Clayton Walden

Suzanne Schmitz Award

Megan Fugate Najla Hasic Sara McClusky Pilar Pitts Ryan Scott Tamsen Stanley