#### LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2020-2021

#### **Best Note Award**

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief. NATHAN LEVY

#### **Outstanding Note Award**

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief. HUGH TONER

#### **Best Note Editor**

Presented to the best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication. NICOLE MANNEN

#### **Best Articles Editor**

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken, and the quality of editing. ANNE HANSEN

#### **Outstanding Staff Member**

This award is presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal. SAMANTHA BENNETT

#### **Outstanding Leadership Award**

This award is presented to the third-year board member exemplifies significant leadership skills through their ability to lead and guide Journal staff, their development of staff and author's written work, successful and efficient staff management, promotion of teamwork and collaboration, and doing so consistently with a positive attitude. PATRICIA PFIEFFER

# MOOT COURT AWARDS AND HONORS

For the Academic Year 2020-2021

American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition Coach: CHERYL ANDERSON 3L Team: DYLAN BOYD & TRENTON WAGNER 2L Team: ANDREW JARMER & ABIGAEL SCHULZ

Asylum and Refugee Moot Court Team Coaches: CINDY BUYS & REBECCA WARREN 3L Team: MICHAEL GEASCHEL & DOROTHY KENNON 2L Team: JACKSON DIMMICK & SCHUYLER FRASHIER

**Federal Bar Association Moot Court Team** Coaches: CHERYL ANDERSON & THOMAS SLAYTON 2L Team: ANTHONY LUCCHESI & COLTON TRINA

William E. McGee Civil Rights Moot Court Team Coach: THOMAS SLAYTON 3L Team: CONNOR LONDRIGAN & LOGAN WALLACE 2L Team: DANIEL ASOYNE, BREANNA BAGLEY & JUSTIN KAY

Intramural Competition Award Winners Champions: MYLA BURTON & JACKSON DIMMICK Finalist Team: SCHUYLER FRASHIER & ABIGAEL SCHULZ Best Oralist: JACKSON DIMMICK Second Best Oralist: KEVIN WARD Third Best Oralist: ANDREW JARMER & LOREN PACK Best Brief: SCHUYLER FRASHIER & ABIGAEL SCHULZ

Second Best Brief: ADRIENNE LONG & COLTON TRINA

**Order of Barristers** 

LOGAN WALLACE CONNOR LONDRIGAN TRENTON WAGNER DYLAN BOYD

## TRIAL TEAM AWARDS

For the Academic Year 2020-2021

# **Order of the Barrister** TATIYANA RODRIGUEZ

#### HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2020-2021

> Class of 1991 Scholarship REYNA HERRERA

Charter Class Campaign for Academic Excellence GARET COLLUM JERALD DEHNE KEEGAN FINN CALLAH MATHENA

> School of Law Alumni Scholarship DJORDJE DJURICIC

Law 25th Anniversary Campaign Scholarship JACOB MCGOWAN

> **Bill Schroeder Scholarship** BARTHOLOMEW BASI REID MCINTOSH

Jennifer Camero Scholarship ELLE BASLER MATTHEW COOK

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship ERIC JACKSON

## August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship NICHOLAS KADELA

**Dell'Era Scholarship** MEGAN BATTY AMANDA ELFAR

Scott Nichols Scholarship ALEXANDRIA WILLIAMS

### **Charles Neal Scholarship**

GABRIELLE BARNES ZACHARY CATO CHRISTIAN FREEZELAND ANDREW KONYA GABRIEL PETTYJOHN

# Frank Bietto Scholarship

COLE CIMAROLLI COURTNEY RAGLAND CONOR STREMLAU

### Judge Richard Mills Scholarship KENZIE KREI MATTHEW SCHROCK

Delos Duty Scholarship TIFFANY BAXTER CASEY WILLIAMS

## John Maher and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship DAVID ELOVITZ MADELINE TODD

#### Lesar Professorship Fund MICHAEL COOK KEEGAN DENNIS

# Clemens Scholarship for Women Lawyers ALEXIS BARNED HANNAH KINGERY

Law Dean's Club Scholarship JACOB TOPLIFFE

Hiram & Rosalie Lesar Scholarship KAYLA RANTA JOSEPH STRATER

Judge James Foreman Scholarship JOSHUA GERDES

> Law Student Scholarship TRAVIS ALLEN THOMAS GOODMAN KALI PRAY

Baer Scholarship for SIU School of Law CONNOR FITCH

Madison County Bar Association COLIN KELSEY AUSTIN TOBY

Hines Law School Scholarship Fund CONNOR FITCH

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship ELLE BASLER

> Pat Caporale Scholarship Prize CAITLYN VANOVER

Al H. and James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship COURTNEY YOUNG

> Joseph Downey Scholarship TAMEEKA RUSSELL

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship ANDREW JARMER

Harold W. "Hank" Hannah Ag Law Scholarship DANIELLE KAPANOWSKI Jackson County Bar Association TARYN DISSETT

David C. Johnson Scholarship BRITTANY LEHR

Andrew Range Endowed Scholarship ABIGAEL SCHULZ

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship LORAINA TRUJILLO

Edgar O. & Bonnie Zimmer Law Scholarship COURTNEY YOUNG

**U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois** MEGAN LITTLE

> Judge James O. Monroe, Jr. Award DEIDRE POWELL

Donny J. Schmeder Memorial Endowed Scholarship REGINA FRAGALE

> **Thurgood Marshall Award** JAMES JONES

Class of 1994- Outstanding Research Assistant MAUREEN JENNER

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award Fund BRITTANY LEHR

**Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Legal Clinic Fellow** JOSEPH TONDINI DEIDRE POWELL

> Julius and Norma Johnson JAMES JONES

Consumer Protection ADAM JELOVIC

## National Association of Women Lawyer's PATRICIA PFEIFFER

#### Lincoln's Inn

DYLAN BOYD ANDREW GERTSCH KAITLYN HUTCHISON MAUREEN JENNER TIFFANY KETCHUM LINSKY LUNDY NICOLE MANNEN GRACE MILLER PATRICIA PFEIFFER MARY ROESCH MONTANA SCHAFER WESTON STODDARD LOGAN WALLACE MALCOLM WICKWARE

## **Congressman William Enyart Bar Preparation Fund**

BRIANNA BAKER KRISTINA COOK BEVERLY GARLAND LORI HAAS PRESTON MOSTEK RYESHA PATTERSON CLAYTON WALDEN

# Suzanne Schmitz Award

MEGAN FUGATE NAJLA HASIC SARA MCCLUSKY PILAR PITTS RYAN SCOTT TAMSEN STANLEY