LAW JOURNAL AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Law Journal For the Academic Year 2021-2022

Best Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief.

MACKENZIE LYONS

Outstanding Note Award

Presented to the author of the note selected for publication which scored the second highest in a blind ranking by the Editor-in-Chief.

RANDY KOONCE

Best Note Editor

Presented to the best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication.

NATHAN LEVY

Outstanding Note Editor

Presented to the second best note editor based on quality of editing, dedication, ability to work with staff authors, and the number of articles edited that were selected for publication.

HUGH TONER

Best Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken, and the quality of editing.

LORAINA TRUJILLO

Outstanding Articles Editor

Presented to the Articles Editor who made the second most significant contribution to the Journal based on the number of hours dedicated to Law Journal activities, the difficulty and importance of projects undertaken, and the quality of editing.

MOLLIE BOWMAN

Outstanding Staff Member

Presented to the second-year staff member who made the greatest contribution to the Journal through the quality of their work and their service and dedication to the Journal.

KENZIE MOOTY

MOOT COURT AWARDS AND HONORS

Southern Illinois University Moot Court Board For the Academic Year 2021-2022

Asylum and Refugee Moot Court Team

Coaches: CHRISTOPHER SIELAFF & REBECCA WARREN 3L Team: JACKSON DIMMICK & SCHUYLER FRASHIER 2L Team: REYNA HERRERA & COURTNEY RAGLAND

Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Team

Coach: THOMAS SLAYTON
3L Team: ANTHONY LUCCHESI & COLTON TRINA
2L Team: ELLE BASLER & AUSTIN TOBY

National Child Welfare and Adoption Law Moot Court Competition

Coaches: PROF. CHERYL ANDERSON & THOMAS SLAYTON 3L Team: DAN ASOYNE, BREANNA BAGLEY & JUSTIN KAY 2L Team: SOPHIA ALLEN, CAITLYNN DIXON & JOSEPH STRATER

William B. Spong Jr. Invitational Tournament Team

Coach: CHERYL ANDERSON
3L Team: ANDREW JARMER & ABIGAEL SCHULZ
2L Team: ELIZABETH BRADSHAW, KEEGAN DENNIS
& MADELINE TODD

Intramural Competition Award Winners

Champions: ELIZABETH BRADSHAW & MADELINE TODD Finalist Team: BRYNN CRAVEN & KEEGAN DENNIS Best Oralist: AUSTIN TOBY Second Best Oralist: CAITLYNN DIXON

Third Best Oralist: ELIZABETH BRADSHAW
Best Brief: ELIZABETH BRADSHAW & MADELINE TODD
Second Best Brief: CAITLYNN DIXON & REYNA HERRERA

Order of Barristers

JACKSON DIMMICK SCHUYLER FRASHIER ANDREW JARMER ABIGAEL SCHULZ

TRIAL TEAM AWARDS

Southern Illinois University Mock Trial Team For the Academic Year 2021-2022

2022 Mock Trial Team

Advisor: JASON CARAWAY
Outstanding Advocate: CASSANDRA MINNIFIELD
MYLA BURTON
TARYN DISSETT
JAMES JONES

2022 Speed Trial Competition

Advisor: CHRIS BEHAN
First Place Team: SOPHIA ALLEN, CAITLYN VANOVER
& COURTNEY YOUNG

Second Place Team: ANTONIO HA, SCOTT LU & NICHOLAS SIKES

HONORS AND AWARDS WITHIN THE LAW SCHOOL

Southern Illinois University For the Academic Year 2021-2022

Class of 1991 Scholarship

Thomas Craig

Charter Class Campaign for Academic ExcellenceMargaret Doane

School of Law Alumni Scholarship

Thaddeus Breaux

Law 25th Anniversary Campaign Scholarship

Logan Giesing

Bill Schroeder Scholarship

Brooke Melvin

Jennifer Camero Scholarship

Alicyn Gerhardt

Max Turner Memorial Scholarship

Thomas Beley

August L. "Gus" Fowler Scholarship

Savannah Krieg

Dell'Era Scholarship

Amanda Dancea

Scott Nichols Scholarship

Ethan Konicek

Charles Neal Scholarship

Katharine Bauer

Jessica Bowlder

Jessica Collie

Ruth Kvistad

Rheann Lucas

Frank Bietto Scholarship

Rachel Burke

Judge Richard Mills Scholarship

Emily Smoot

Delos Duty Scholarship

Paulina Fuhrman

John Maher and Joan Dawley Maher Scholarship

Kane Hudson-Morris

Lesar Professorship Fund

Sarah Mead

Clemens Scholarship for Women Lawyers

Abigail Miller

Law Dean's Club Scholarship

Alexandra Pyle

Hiram & Rosalie Lesar Scholarship

Michael Keeney

Judge James Foreman Scholarship

Alexis Hulfachor

Law Student Scholarship

Matthew Blaney

Baer Scholarship for SIU School of Law

Arianne Moody

Madison County Bar Association

Joseph Wallace

Ronald E. Osman Endowed Scholarship

Robert Phillipe

Pat Caporale Scholarship Prize

Rebecca Yocum

Al H. and James A. Chesser Endowed Scholarship

Gloria Lewis

Gilbert Family Memorial Scholarship

Adrianne Long

Harold W. "Hank" Hannah Ag Law Scholarship David Elovitz

Jackson County Bar Association Caitlynne Dixon

David C. Johnson Scholarship Lorren Pack

Andrew Range Endowed Scholarship Hugh Toner

Judge Richard E. Richman Ethics Scholarship Caitlynne Dixon

Edgar O. & Bonnie Zimmer Law Scholarship
Andrew Jarmer

U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois
Jacob Topliffe

Judge James O. Monroe, Jr. Award Randy Koonce

> Thurgood Marshall Award Gloria Lewis

Class of 1994- Outstanding Research Assistant
Justine Newman

Howard B. Eisenberg Client Service Award FundCoral Serrano

Charles D. and Fairy B. Neal Legal Clinic Fellow Joseph Tondini

Julius and Norma Johnson Tiara McKeithan

Professor Edward L. Welch Labor Law Scholarship

Dylan Zippay

Lessen Bankruptcy Scholarship Kevin Lichtenberger

Houdek-Tulis Law Librarian Scholarship

Cameron Mansen

Beth & Darin Boggs Scholarship

David Elovitz Joe Wallace

Bessie Engram Community Service Award

Nathan Levy

Class of 1999/ Sean Dempsey RSD Memorial Scholarship

Brandon Broadwater

Lincoln's Inn

Schuyler Frashier James Jones Andrew Jarmer Jackson Dimmick Abigael Schulz Kirby Smith Taylor Woods